I Can’t Compete With Olamide and Phyno- Modenine

image

The legendary lyricist, Modenine has affirmed that he cannot compete with the likes of Olamide and Phyno in indigenous rap.

Responding to a question on why he has refused to rap in Yoruba, Modenine said there was no point attempting what he’s not proficient at.

“No, I can’t do that, you know why? If there are people doing something and they can do it better than you, there is no point in doing it too because they are already way ahead of you”, he said.

“It is harder for me to write a Pidgin English song than a normal English song. I can rap in English effortlessly. I don’t just write anything, I try to be clever with words like when I said, ‘They be bungalow brains, nothing upstairs;’ it’s a punch line, but it was done in Pidgin English.”

Modenine is unanimously conferred with crown of the greatest lyricist Nigeria has ever produced.

We'll like to hear your opinion!

