Fela, Plantashun Boiz, Trybesmen inspired Me – Falz

image

Falz the Badguy’s fame is steady soaring and he’s identified Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Plantashun Boiz and Trybesmen as some of his musical influences.

Speaking with Saturday Punch, Falz said that he grew up listening to Fela, adding that the Afro-beat legend’s influence would reflect a lot in his next album.

“My father has always been a huge fan of Fela Kuti, so I could not escape being familiar with his music. I heard it every day and everywhere. Fela’s songs were major influence on me. If you listen to my next album, you would hear a lot of Afro-beat in it. I always find ways to blend Afro-beat to my song because it was a major influence in my life.”

“In terms of other influences, I listened to a lot of Trybesmen, Plantashun Boiz, these were guys that always put humour in their rap and that was how I formed my own style.”

The lawyer turned entertainer also said that he hasn’t completely abandoned the law profession, stating that he had plans to venture into entertainment law in the nearest future.

We'll like to hear your opinion!

