My Artistes Always Come First – Don Jazzy

image

Mavin Records Boss Don Jazzy has revealed that he prioritizes the artistes on his label over his own selfish interests.

In a recent interview, Don Jazzy said that having made so much money from music, it was his priority to keep his artistes comfortable and happy as well.

“I have made stupid money. A lot of money and I’m very comfortable. I think I was born to do this. There are other record labels doing well also but in my research, I don’t think there’s any record label that’s as passionate about the career of their artistes as much as I am.

“I’m over passionate about my artistes. Until the last man blows, am not happy. I think about their success before I think about making money, but most labels are always interested in making back the money they have invested and making profit”, he said. 

You don’t need to be greedy and expect to make all the money in the world when your artiste is not making money. 

Sometimes, my lawyers tell me the way my artiste contract is set up is wrong because I’m cheating myself with the sharing formula, but I don’t think I’m cheating myself. 

I think I’m making my artistes very comfortable and in the long run, we’ll be fine because I care more about my name and the glory than the money. But most labels care more about the money than the glory,” he said

Don Jazzy has made monster hits for the label this year including ‘Dorobuchi’ for the whole crew, ‘Katapolt’ for Reekado Banks, ‘Godwin’ for Korede Bello and ‘Aww’ for D’ija to name a few.

We'll like to hear your opinion!

